Rotary Clubs Award 2016 Youth Leadership Awards
The Rotary Club of Scottsdale and Scottsdale Airpark Rotary Clubs annually collaborate to hold their 2016 Scottsdale Youth Salute to applaud the positive accomplishments of local young men and women.  Youth Salute recognizes outstanding high school seniors and involves them in seminars and workshops specifically designed to further develop their already formidable leadership skills.  Nominations for Scottsdale's Youth Salute candidates are requested during a student's junior year. Students are nominated not only on grades, but also on leadership in school activities, religious organizations, or activities in their community.
Each student is asked to complete an application and answer three out of four essay questions. The two Rotary Clubs review the essays; interview each student; and then select twelve students to compete on award night by answering an "on the spot question."  Of the twelve selected students, four students are selected to attend  "Town Meeting on Tomorrow" to be held mid-October 2016 in St. Louis. Youth leaders with diverse backgrounds from across the nation gather in St. Louis at Washington University to participate in the Youth Salute Programs, sponsored by the National Council on Youth Leadership. “Town Meeting on Tomorrow” inspires youth to service, excellence and outstanding performance by reinforcing active leadership as the key to meeting tomorrow's needs.  The 2016 finanlist judges were:
This year the Rotary Clubs received 67 Youth Salute leadership nominations from eleven Scottsdale high schools. The Youth Salute Award ceremonies were held April 7th, at Scottsdale Community College.   Rotarians Mike Savastio, Sara Hartman-Crosby and Mary Blank with support from Roger Rohr and Dr. Honora Norton helped organize the evening's activities. Coach John Avianantos spoke to the all the nominated students and their parents and guests. Coach John is a nationally renown speaker and Scottsdale Community College athletic director and head football coach. Coach John's talk was fun, fast paced and loaded with cutting edge concepts that the students could apply immediately to make a lasting effect his/her self image and confidence.
As part of the Award Night program award certificates were given to all Youth Salute nominees.  The four 2016 Scottsdale Youth Salute Award Winners selected to go to the 2016 Town Meeting on Tomorrow in St. Louis were announced: from Scottsdale Preparatory Academy, Jaywon Kim; from Desert Mountain High School, Nicholas Basch;  from Xavier College Preparatory, Emily Wood; and, from Desert Mountain High School,  Alexis Scott.  Alexandria Murray, from Xavier College Preparatory was named alternate in case one of the four winners is unable to attend.  In addition to the these winners, the finalists included: from Arcadia High School, Camryn Lizik; from BASIS High School, Julia Gaumond; from Chaparral High School, Kendrick Nguyen and Anna Lee Cook; from Desert Mountain High School, Alexis Hocken; from Phoenix Country Day School, Sam Lett; and, from Saguaro High School, Meredith Huls.  2015 Youth Salute Winners, Cole Dady and Jason Greenfield, both from Phoenix Country Day School, as well as, Rotarian Lou Lou Durant shared their experiences as past award winners.
The Rotary Clubs extended thank you to the applicants, parents, high school counselors, interviewers, award judges (Max Rumbaugh, Rotary Club of Scottsdale, Club President; Dr. Nigel Drummond, Airpark Rotary, Club President; Dr. Jan Gehler, Rotarian and President of Scottsdale Community College; and, Mary Blank, Rotary Club of Scottsdale, Club President-elect), and to Chaparral High School and Scottsdale Community College for hosting the Youth Salute events.
For more information about Rotary Club of Scottsdale's upcoming speakers, projects, programs, and meeting dates/locations - go to  Visitors to club meetings are always welcome - call 480-945-6158.
Pictures: Individuals of 5 winners and group picture of Finalists